RSS

I Am Back

06 Jan

Good morning,

I apologize for my extended absence. As most of you know I have relocated to North Alabama. Needless to say, it is not Yuma. We enjoyed our threes years there, but we were ready to get closer to family. We are about 10 minutes from my folks. And only an 8 hour drive from Tiffany’s family, who we were able to see for both Thanksgiving and Christmas.

I finally feel settled to a point in which I hope to start writing on a more regular basis again. Things are going well in the congregation. The church here is growing and the gospel is spreading. I am teaching through Genesis and Revelation at the moment and thoroughly enjoying both.

In four weeks I will be at the Lectures at Florida College. I am very excited to be attending this year – I have not been able to go since 2007.  Tomorrow I will post what lectures I will be attending.

Now that I am back to blogging, I will continue my book reviews. I am also going to throw in some discussion on vocabulary. Not just a “word of the day” kind of thing but posts on specific Biblical studies terms. I am doing this for two reasons. The first is that in some of my reading, I know the basic meanings of the “academic words” that authors use but I do not know everything the author intends by that word – so this is for my growth. Secondly, there have been times, a word is spoken in Bible class or a sermon, and no one knows what it means. Most of the time, the preacher or teacher needs to clarify. However, there are times that a specific word is the best fit for the discussion. For example, if someone is teaching about premillennialism or the judgement day – the term eschatology is very appropriate. But many do not know its definition. My goal is to learn and to help you learn some of these terms. And I will keep you in suspense on the meaning of eschatology – it will be my first definition.

I look forward to blogging again and interacting with you. God bless and may 2010 be better than 2009.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “I Am Back

  1. Lisa Schmittou

    January 6, 2010 at 10:03 am

    I am really looking forward to these studies! Thanks for posting them for us.

     
  2. Denise Hammond

    January 12, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    I am glad to see that you are back! I enjoy reading your blog and all the interesting information that you post. It is very helpful. It has really encouraged and uplifted me while reading and learning more from the Bible. Thanks so very much for all you do to spread the Word of God to others. Glad you and your family are back in Alabama!!! I didn’t know you were back on line until your Mom sent this to me today. Thanks again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
